top of page

Global Learning Experience


The first time that I learned about Global Learning was the moment when Eric Feldman contacted me to talk about my project for CGI U. Since then, I knew I wanted to be part of a community of like-minded people that support students to grow beyond boundaries. Since I was a kid, I have always been interested on learning about the world, which took me to study International Relations. However, media and cultural norms sometimes can limit us to think and see the world through a lens that would not allow us to understand each other, and that is the reason why global learning is important.


Growing up in Venezuela allowed me to have a certain perspective of the world, mostly from a developing country perspective. Studying in the United States gave me the opportunity to step out of my comfort zone; however, going beyond what my classes thought me was what allowed me to have a global learning experience. I had the opportunity to learn beyond my major, get involved on campus through different student organizations and grow as a student overall.


Thorough global learning I was exposed to courses, talks and experiences that helped me to shape my career and plans after graduation. With one of my global learning courses, which was also an Honors College course, I learned about social entrepreneurship and the possibilities of merging philanthropy with business to create social impact. I was exposed to the Hult Prize that allowed me to think outside of the boundaries of my career. I was exposed to a three different countries that helped me to understand that we are more similar than different around the world. Going abroad confirmed my desire of pursuing a career in International Development. In the future, I would like to work on initiatives that would help communities to develop.


Overall, global learning is an experience that I will be forever grateful for being part of it. Having this type of resources within the university allows students to explore and gain an experience that would allow us to be mindful about the world’s diversity, and help us to learn and be in the future, well-rounded professionals.

34 views0 comments
bottom of page