top of page

Points Experiences

Updated: Nov 9, 2019

How did I get the best out of the Global Learning through activity points?

At one of the Bake Sales with VSA

The Global Learning Medallion gives students the option to get involved in different activities both inside and outside of the university to expose us to global experiences. During my two years as a FIU student and Global Learning scholar, I got the opportunity to get involved in different activities and clubs that helped me to grow as a student and as a leader in my community and abroad. Here are my top five points and the ones that I significantly impacted my student life:


Student Government Association (MMC Campus)

Kick-Off Event of Changemaker Week 2019

Secretary of Innovation and Research (Spring 2019) & Secretary of Academic Affairs (Fall 2019)

I got the opportunity to serve with our Student Government Association MMC Campus as a Secretary of Innovation and Research for Spring 2019 and Secretary of Academic Affairs for Fall 2019. During my time at SGA, I organized different events that helped students to engage with different resources and departments of the university. Along with the Changemaker Initiatives Committee we organized the first Changemaker Week of FIU in Spring 2019. In Fall 2019, I got the opportunity to collaborate with StartUP FIU for Beyond The Major, an event where students would connect with FIU students and alumni from diverse backgrounds and majors and to learn about their FIU journey, internships, and their plans after college.



Closing of our Academic Year 2018-2019

Venezuelan Student Alliance



Treasurer (Fall 2018) & President (Spring 2019)

As you might know, I am Venezuelan. The first thing that one of my friends did was dragging me to the first general meeting of the Venezuelan Student Alliance. After the first social event with the club I felt that I was right back in my country. The love for the VSA family grew up so much that I got involved in the e-board of the organization. During Fall 2018 we partnered with an Non-Profit Organization called Un Par Por Un Sueno, where we organized a soccer tournament to raise money to open a public dinning in Venezuela! Fun fact: we did it!. During my time as a President, I wanted to keep supporting Un Par por Un Sueno, so we kept fundraising money and keep feeding children in one of the most impoverished areas of Caracas.


Copa Venezuela Suena (February 2019)

Clinton Global Initiative University



Student Participant 2017 and 2018

For two years I got invited to the Clinton Global Initiative University Conference. The way you get accepted to CGIU is by applying with ideas of projects that would help communities both within the United States and abroad. For 2017, I applied with a project that I was developing when I was in Miami Dade College, but also make me connect with StartUP FIU. For 2018 I got invited with an idea that I developed during the Hult Prize (I will talk about a little bit more about it later) :)




FIU Model United Nations


Our team after the closing ceremony of FIMUN 31st

Delegate (2017-2018) and Co-Director of Outreach for FIMUN 31st

Since I was in high school I was part of the Model United Nations team. One of the things that drew my attention to go to FIU was that it has one of the top Model United Nations program in the United States (as of today we are the 1st team in the country!). I got the fortune to become a delegate and the chance of learning from the best students of the university. I also got the chance to be one of the Co-Directors of Outreach for FIMUN 31st (our high school conference).



FIMUN 31st Secretariat


StartUP FIU


At one of our Social Entrepreneurship Panel

Student Assistant

Do you remember the CGIU Project of 2017 that I talked a little bit above? Well, that project made me connect with StartUP FIU, one of the best spaces of the university, where I had the chance of growing not only as a student by attending to multiple workshops on social entrepreneurship and entrepreneurship, but also professionally by becoming a Student Assistant for the department. One of the best experiences that I had at StartUP FIU was running our Hult Prize at FIU for 2018-2019 (but I will talk a little bit more about it in beyond the point)



Cohort 4 Pitch Day

23 views0 comments
bottom of page