top of page

Vietnam-Cambodia: A Dream Come True

For my Global Learning capstone project I decided to study abroad for the summer semester. When I thought about studying abroad I wanted to make sure it would be to a place that I had never been and that it would be way out of my comfort zone. When I saw the programs offered by the Honors College I knew that I wanted to go to Vietnam and Cambodia. In my mind back then I had never thought about going to any of the countries by myself, so it was the perfect moment to do it since I would go with a group.


The first mission was to convince my parents to let me go. Growing up on this side of the world makes you to create a social perspective about how Asia looks like. After doing a lot of research and insisting a lot I got to enroll in the class! The program consisted in two semesters. In the spring semester we would learn about the culture, history and traditions of both countries. We would study the Vietnam War and how it has influenced foreign policy in the United States. We would also study about Cambodia and the Khmer Rouge Genocide, which before the class I had no idea that it happened.


A change of perspective


For the summer class we would actually be in Vietnam and Cambodia for a month! I am not going to lie, the days before going into our trip I was terrified. I did not know what to expect, besides having the preconception about how the countries would look like based on the opinion of others and what I had seen in the movies. Nonetheless, I took my bags and flew 24 hours to Thailand, our first destination.


Thailand


In Thailand I had my first encounter with the unknown, the fear was still there. We all needed to be together, even to buy food on the 7-11 across the street from the hotel! In Thailand I learned abut the Buddhist influence in the country, how much their respect their Kingdom and the King, and how kind people were. Even though we did not speak Thai at all, locals made their effort to communicate with us. We spent three days going to ancient monuments such as Ayutthaya, eating delicious food and Thai Milk tea (my favorite drink by far now!), and meeting locals. Despite the unbearable heat of the city, I loved the first experience of Asia. I was completely happy of being there and having the opportunity to step out of my comfort zone and open myself to a culture.


Vietnam


I did not know what to expect from Vietnam. The only thing that I had heard about it was about the war, communism, and people outside of my class telling me not to go. However, I pay zero to non-attention to bad comments about the country and I went there with an open mind of what I would see and experience. Let me tell you, it is a beautiful country with beautiful people and delicious food!! Our first stop in Vietnam was Hanoi. Hanoi is the city with the same number of motorcycles as people, narrow streets, and super kind people. From Hanoi we went to Ha Long Bay, a beautiful bay with where their locals are so proud of telling us their stories, sharing their point of view from the country. Our last stop in Vietnam was Ho Chi Minh City. In Vietnam I learned about the country, and the people and its culture. I also learned about how they see Americans after the war, and how the war affected their country and its population. I learned about their interaction with their government and I started to question about what I thought I knew about Vietnam. Right after Vietnam I learned that one cannot make an opinion about a country just because it is said in the news. During our time in Vietnam, we had the opportunity to connect with university students like us and develop meaningful relationships with them. Vietnam is a country that I will definitely would like to visit again.


Cambodia

After travelling for 8 hours by land between Vietnam and Cambodia we arrived to Phnom Penh, Cambodia's capital. I will be very honest, before the trip I had no idea about what has happened in Cambodia, which made me question a lot our education system and how little we know about world history that is not western history. Cambodia passed through a terrible genocide that killed 1.5 to 2 million people. What amazed me the most about Cambodia was the resilience of its people and how welcoming they are. In Siem Reap, I had the opportunity to teach English to future teachers at the Provincial Teacher Training College and assist the English teacher at Spitler Primary School. By far has been one of the best experiences that I have had. After teaching for three weeks, I learned how valuable is education for the people of Cambodia and how much they are willing to keep developing their country.



My study abroad program has been my favorite experience until now, and it definitely is a highlight in my college career. I have learned to be open minded to the unknown, to understand the differences and similarities of everyone around the world and that even though we might think we are all completely different, we have more in common. And yes! You should study abroad!

21 views0 comments
bottom of page